Bad Guys Don’t Always Wear Black

When I was 16yo, we went to see a movie… I don’t recall the name of it, but later when we spoke of it I kept getting confused about who was who in the movie… “which one was the bad guy?” My husband (now ex) finally said with an impatient tone “The good guy was wearing light color and the bad guy was wearing black. The bad guy always wears black”.

Well, that was a movie; this is real life. And in real life it’s not always so easy to spot who is bad and who is good. In cowboy movies the bad guy wears a black hat, in scary movies the bad guy is ugly. But in real life we know bad guys don’t wear black hats, and some of the most beautiful faces can hide an evil heart.

A light-bulb moment came to me this morning (which I’ve already written about to an online friend): I need to surround myself with good people, then I will know the bad ones; it’s the same way they train people to detect forged money. They have them feel, look at, inspect the good money because there are so many types of bad money out there, it’s impossible to train someone to detect them all. Instead they train them to recognize the good money. Genius! Why didn’t I ever think of that before? Before being “before I made such a mess of my life”!

I’ve been doing it all wrong. I’ve had some very bad experiences in life, maybe someday the courage will come to write about them, so I know many of the habits that signal a bad guy (and bad girls, but just lumping “bad people” under the label of “bad guys” today). It never occurred to me until today that I can’t possibly detect all the bad guys and put up a guard against them.

If I surround myself with good people then I will detect the bad ones (hopefully). My subconscious works well (so does my 20/20 hindsight 😀 ) but I need to get better about listening to my gut. I’ve never regretted following my gut, but many times have regretted not listening to it.

That feeling in the pit of your stomach when you know “something is not right”, but you can’t figure out what, is your subconscious seeing something your conscious brain is not seeing. Don’t ignore it. When people are saying one thing, but their actions don’t match, the subconscious catches it and warns you with a gut feeling. 

I hope now with this insight it’ll be more easy to spot the bad guys… still…
it would be so much more easy if the bad guys would just wear black 😉

2 Comments

  1. Waqas Ali said,

    August 4, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    I totally agree with

    But in real life we know bad guys don’t wear black hats, and some of the most beautiful faces can hide an evil heart.

    Buttons, in my previous life, I’ve been both good and bad. Thanks to good folks like you who appreciate good in me, and help me be a good guy. But also experienced that not everyone can be changed, so it is better to get away from bad guys.

    • Buttons said,

      August 4, 2011 at 3:52 pm

      Everyone has good and bad, it’s problem when someone allows the bad side win and control their lives. Definitely good side is winning with you. Thank you being a friend.


Leave a Reply

